Going to the LDS Temple, and watching Cartoons! Jul. 9th

Dear, Internet!  Wow… just typing that out makes me feel a little weird about posting what I feel like posting right now!  But whatever!

I just got back from going to the Dallas, TX temple!  My dad is a temple worker there which means that he gets to help perform the ordinances there (Or sacred ceremonies).  For those of you who may not know, the Temple according to the LDS belief (the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints) is a place where we can partake in sacred ceremonies called ordinances.  The Temple is also where we can perform said ordinances on the behalf of our ancestry thus allowing them the same opportunities in the next life.  What it means for our ancestors is beyond my ability to fathom!  But what it means for me is super-relaxing-spiritual-awesome-stress-relief!

Kinda feels like this after a long day of stressing
Kind of feels like this after a long day of stressing out. BTW (the anime is Toradora!)

Ever since I got off my mission I’ve been pretty stressed out, but thanks to the temple and other scripture study I’ve been able to get through it!

Sadly, though I’ve come to the shocking realization that splitting life between being a mormon and being involved in geek-culture is not the easiest thing to balance out.  I’ll admit openly though I haven’t played many video games since getting off my mission that I have watched a bit of anime and cartoons (and a bit of TV).  This is both the best and the worst part of being home.  On the one hand, I love getting lost in a good story like “Sherlock” or a visually gripping world like that of : “Sword Art Online” It’s been hard for me to even start watching TV let alone wholeheartedly enjoy it since being so dedicated to that thing we call “The Gospel” for two years.

This is a good across the board example of the kind of stuff I've been watching lately.
Sword Art Online is a good “across the board” example of the kind of shows I’ve been watching lately.

I don’t know if it’s just because I can’t wrap my mind around the fact that I’m now allowed to watch TV every so often and enjoy it but I still feel a little guilty about watching cartoons like a regular old nerd. LOL, this is what my mom calls “the mourning period” of my mission, I miss being fully immersed in spiritual awesomeness and teaching people about the great and eternal plan of happiness.  But, to be honest, at least I feel bad about it!  I’m glad to a certain extent that I feel this Mourning Period coming on because it means that what happened on my mission has changed me permanently for the better! 

But… I’m still a freaking nerd.  I admit this openly, knowing fully that being a Nerd and a Mormon are two hard things to do at the same time but I am glad that I am a part of a church that allows for improvement over time.  Seeing as I have many years left to improve, hopefully things will continue to get better!  I anticipate that as I continue to work hard at preparing for college and also going to the temple each week that all of my kinks will be ironed out and I’ll come out of this life smooth, happy and ready for the next thing!  However that goes, thankfully, no matter what, at least it’ll be better than this life!

 

Anywhays, hope y’all are having a NERDY time out there and enjoying life to the best of your abilities!  I certainly am!  And tommorrow I’ll be posting a new video HERE and on my YouTube which i’m very excited about!  Thanks for reading, 

-youfreakinnnerd

1 thought on “Going to the LDS Temple, and watching Cartoons! Jul. 9th”

Leave a comment